gallery2015_IMG_8069-34What is EYFS? – The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), which is how the Government and early years professionals describe the time in your child’s life between birth and age 5. This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes. From when your child is born up until the age of 5, their early years experience should be happy, active, exciting, fun and secure; and support their development, care and learning needs. At St Michael’s Playgroup we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework.

The EYFS is a single quality framework for children from birth to the age of five. All childcare settings including childminders who are registered by Ofsted must provide care and learning based on this framework. St. Michael’s follows this frameworks four main themes:

  1. A Unique Child: Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  2. Positive Relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.
  3. Enabling Environments: The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
  4. Learning and Development: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of learning and development are equally important and interconnected.

Here at St. Michael’s our aim is to help the children towards achieving the five following outcomes:

  1. To be healthy.
  2. To stay safe.
  3. To enjoy and achieve.
  4. To make a positive contribution.
  5. To achieve economic well-being.

These outcomes will continue when they move on to nursery school and reception class.

To read more about the EYFS Framework, please refer to this document:  The Parents’ Guide to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (pdf)

Copyright © 2019 www.stmichaelsplaygroup.com All Rights Reserved.  Pink Desk Studio